Music Copyright: How to Get Permission to Use a Song
26 Apr 2021
27 May 2020
In the past, deleting videos from YouTube was not very easy: the editor was not intuitive, and if you didn’t know what exactly you needed to do, it could turn into a tedious task.
But the 2020 YouTube is different. It is much more straightforward and flexible, and deleting videos is one of the things that have been simplified.
However, if you’ve never deleted a video from YouTube, you may find it confusing. To make it less so, we will share with you three simple methods you can use to delete a video from your YouTube channel. Let’s get started!
Let’s start with the basics. To delete a video from YouTube, you need to be signed in to your YouTube account. You can sign in to YouTube from the upper-right corner of the page. If you have several accounts, make sure to log in to the one YouTube channel where your video is.
And if you don't have a YouTube channel yet, you can create one fast, using your Google account.
The next step is accessing YouTube Studio from the drop-down menu on the top right of the page. Select “YouTube Studio,” and you will be redirected to your dashboard.
YouTube Studio is an essential tool for creators. If the layout seems unfamiliar, you may have gotten used to the old version of YouTube Studio, the YouTube Studio Classic. YouTube entirely replaced the old version in 2020, and the new YouTube studio has become the default tool for managing all YouTube channel activity.
In the Studio, from the panel on the left, go to “Videos” under the dashboard.
You will see the full list of your videos organized by date, from the most recent to the oldest. Click on "Date" to reverse the order, if it’s an old video you want to delete.
By selecting “Live” right next to “Uploads,” you will see the list of all live YouTube videos you’ve aired on your channel, in case you need to access or delete them.
For YouTube channels with tens or hundreds of videos, finding the right video manually may be time-consuming. To streamline the search, use the filter options. You can filter by copyright claims, description, title, views, and visibility.
Depending on your needs, each of the filters can be useful. However, the simplest way to find the required video is to search for it by title keywords.
Type one or several words from the video title into the filter box, and click Enter to see the full list of videos that contain the given keywords.
Once you’ve found the video, select it by ticking the box next to it. You can choose as many as 50 YouTube videos in one go. This has been one of the most recent (and long-awaited!) updates on YouTube. Before, to delete ten videos, you needed to go to the settings of each, and remove them from there — 10 times more work! Now, you can do it with several clicks in the “YouTube Studio.”
Once you have selected the video you want to delete, open on the "More Actions" drop-down menu from the top panel. From here, you will have the option to download your video or delete it forever.
Note that your video will be deleted permanently, without the possibility to restore it. Unfortunately, there is also no option to replace the video either — removing it and uploading a new one, while saving the old views, is not possible. Once you delete your video, all the views, likes, and comments will be deleted and withdrawn from your channel statistics.
After you click “Delete Forever,” a pop-up window should appear on the screen. Tick the box stating that you understand the implications of the action, and then select “Delete Forever.”
Your video will be deleted instantly. If you select more than one video, removing them may take some time, but not more than a minute. You don’t need to wait for the process to be completed and can leave the page.
Another way to delete the video is from the YouTube Studio again. Hover your mouse over the chosen video, and several icons will appear.
Select the three-dot icon for advanced video settings, and again, click on “Delete Forever.” The following steps will be the same as in the previous method.
The third and last method you can use to delete YouTube videos is from the editor itself.
Go to the drop-down menu on the top right corner again, this time proceeding to “Your Channel.”
From “Home” or “Videos,” select the video you want to delete.
You will be redirected to the video player. As an owner of the channel, on the bottom right corner of the video, you will notice two blue buttons: “Analytics” and “Edit Video.” Clicking “Edit Video” will take you to the editor.
In the video editor, you can edit your video details, change settings and privacy, add your videos to playlists, and many more. To delete the video, again click on the three dots. This time, they are located on the top right side, next to the “Save” button.
You will have three options — to download the video, delete, or promote it. Go with delete, and you will see the same pop-up again. Check the box again, letting YouTube know that you understand that the action cannot be undone, and hit delete.
While creating videos and uploading them to YouTube is always exciting, sometimes, deleting old content to freshen up your channel can feel almost as great. With the new YouTube Studio, it's way too easy to delete YouTube videos — several clicks and you are done!
Take your time to experiment with the tools YouTube offers to make the best out of the platform. And if you’ve been toying with the idea to refresh your channel by adding new videos, we have hundreds of templates on Renderforest that you can use to create videos in no time. Click the button below to have a look at them and start the creation process.
Dive into our Forestblog of exclusive interviews, handy tutorials and interesting articles published every week!Read all posts by Renderforest Staff